#
It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:39 am

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 8 posts ]
 Post subject: Mr. Peanut
PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:19 pm 

so i thought i would add another corolla build to the site. this is my 1974 ke20. this has been an on-going project for the past 1 1/2 years. i didn't plan on the build taking this long, but i'm a full time student with a very small budget!

before i get into the build, i'd like to extend some thank you's to people who have helped me tremendously. first, my brother-in-law who let me keep my car at his shop and pretty much use all his tools. he's an EXTREMELY talented hot rod and motorcycle builder and has shown me the ropes on welding and fabrication. this build would have gotten NOWHERE without him :tu: i'd also like to thank my brother who gave me his old motor and has taught me a lot about mechanics! i'd like to thank my friend Damien who gave me my front calipers and wired the motor for me, and thanks to all the people who took time to give me info and sell me parts :mrgreen: thats a long list so i'm sorry for not naming you individually.

so here's the rundown:

1974 ke20 corolla

-4age bluetop
-ae86 front struts,ground control coilovers, 6kg eibach springs, t3 camber plates, ncra's
-ae86 open diff rear end(LSD later) with rebuilt leafs to 4kg(waaaaay too stiff!!! gonna pull some out) and de-arched 3", 2" lowering blocks, kyb gas adjust shocks from fc3s
-t50 transmission
-ae86 clutch master cylinder
-custom one piece driveshaft
-ae86 brakes with porterfield pads
-ae86 sr5 front seats
-wheels are 14x6.5 hayashi command800

pics when i first got it
the body is pretty beat up but i like it! it has character!

old motor. slow motion 3kc

new(old) motor after clean up

prepped engine bay

it fits! i cut the old engine mounts, moved them and re-welded them

new front suspension. i did the ground control weld on kit from t3

stripped down housing and these are my newly made leaf mounts