It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:56 pm

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 2   [ 29 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Stance Defined
PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 5:20 pm 

Hope you enjoy...

Quote:
As written by Nic Foster, StanceWorks:

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you the official Stance Formula.
I’d like to think I’m a student of Stance. I capitalize Stance on purpose; for the same reason Catholic’s capitalize God. Some of you may be aware that I’m an engineer. I work with numbers, criteria, mechanical envelopes, and constraints all day long. Most of the things in the engineering world come about from equations, safety factors, or other design criteria that must be adhered to. As a good student of Stance, I look at cars quite a bit on the internet. Clicking on links of links. Getting lost in a sea of still images, each one showing a different definition of what Stance might be, or how someone else perceives it. Part of me has always thought that there must be some sort of equation that provides a basis for proper Stance. Here I make an attempt to define the variables and relationship between those variables that blend together to make a well balanced Stance.

Variables:
Gap — A measure of distance between wheel lip or tire to fender. Although weighted differently than low, the lack of fender gap creates an aggressive look and the feeling of danger due to the potential for damage (see Damage further down). {G1} refers to gap between the front wheel/tire and front fender. {G2} refers to gap between the rear wheel/tire and rear fender. {G1}{G2}

Wheelbase — The distance between the wheels of the automobile in question. {Wb}

Muffler — How much space there is between the ground and muffler can. Busted mufflers that dangle and move need not apply. {M}

Oilpan — Common place where low is measured. Usually at the front of an automobile, this Low measurement marks the beginning of the Low Function. {Op}