Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What DSLR Camera should i buy ?

What DSLR Camera should i buy ?

Ok so Ive been doing a lot of research lately looking for a DSLR camera around th 500$- 800$ price range. I had it narrowed down to two :
    Nikon D5000

Pentax K-r

The Nikon got discontinued in the past couple moths so im really ready to get the Pentax but would like some opinions.

Im mostly gonna be using it to take pictures of my kids, cars, anything interesting, I really want to get into it. My girlfriend is an Art major, so im kinda looking for something to do to keep up with her ! lol

Let me know what you think

Ps
    I have no experience using a camera except on my iphone haha

Pentax is so sexy

If you are down to those two, take the Nikon. Nikon and Canon are the only two brands I personally would buy.

Are you at all open to pre-owned? for that budget you could probably get into a clean used Nikon D200 or D300?

I'd take a used "professional" camera over a new "consumer" camera any way. and usually do. :P

I carry a D200 and a D300. And now that there are plenty of used D700s on the market, I may replace the D200 soon... :P

I would agree with the Nikon and Canon statement (though I personally prefer Nikon

The reason isn't personal though, it's the fact that those two have the most support. Not only can you buy their lens, the main lens manufactures (Sigma/Tokina/etc) make them for those brands as well. So you end up with much more lens options. Anyone I know who bought other brands and became really avid photographers either switched to Nikon or Canon and/or wish they had bought one of those.

Quote Originally Posted by KC30
    I would agree with the Nikon and Canon statement (though I personally prefer Nikon