Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wiring question for 1J swap.

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    240

    Wiring question for 1J swap.

    I've made the decision to swap in a 1j into the 'Mistress' for now, but i'd like to keep the factory gauge cluster if possible. If I can use the factory gauges, I plan to do the swap when I get back from my deployment, if not, i'll wait.

    I know Oracles needed a gauge cluster out of a car that had a 2j already to go with his.

    But, this guy did a 1j swap and was still able to use his factory cluster.



    If anyone knows how I can accomplish this or get ahold of this guy to ask him, please let me know.
    I've sent him a message on myspace, but he hasn't responded yet :cry:

    to sum it up...
    how can i accomplish-
    74 Corona Mark II
    1JZ-GTE engine/mission/harness
    Factory gauge cluster

    and any other wiring info that would help to make it all work. :tu:

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    573
    You can do the swap and keep the guage cluster but with newer guages.
    check out speedhut.com

    I am getting a set from them

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    240
    I thought about that. If I don't use the factory cluster, I have a set in mind, but they won't go in until I redo the whole interior which is why i'm trying to use the factory one for now.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by c72c
    I thought about that. If I don't use the factory cluster, I have a set in mind, but they won't go in until I redo the whole interior which is why i'm trying to use the factory one for now.
    Use the factory cluster but just change the guages inside.
    It will still look stock

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    573
    .....

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    240
    haha, yea, that slipped my mind for some reason. ops: :tu:

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Lynnwood, Washington
    Posts
    349
    That's Eddie M. (Old Series Garage) he's the one doing the swap in my 1980 Cressida (1JZGTE VVTi) and I too cannot use my stock gauges.

    So Im going to use the cluster and get some aftermarket gauges to put in them, just like Oracles suggested :tu:

Similar Threads

  1. ***Alt. Plug Wiring?? 4M/7M Swap***
    By whit in forum Toyota Garage
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-06-2015, 10:48 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-2013, 07:04 PM
  3. kp61 4age swap - wiring
    By not12listen in forum Toyota Garage
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-03-2012, 09:53 PM
  4. tranny swap question
    By hiimrico in forum Mitsubishi Garage
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-29-2009, 06:44 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-25-2009, 07:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •