Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mazda VC or MA

Hi guys; I'm new to this forum.
    I am restoring a '75 Capella and need to start engine work soon. It's imperative to me that the car stays era correct so engine swaps are out of the question.
    I messed around with a VC many years ago when I was still an apprentice: high compression 81mm F6 pistons specially pocketed and converted to free floating, lightened and balanced bottom end, milled 1mm off head, 2mm off block, 1 link of timing chain removed, bigger ports, high lift cam, twin 40mm Webers etc.
    Bar blowing a few head gaskets(this was sorted out eventually) it went very well.

I have no experience with the MA as they're very scarce over here, but I can get my hands on one now;

What are the performance advantages of the MA over the VC?
    Do they still rev well enough? I know the stroke is 10mm longer
    Is it worth the effort for the extra 200cc?

Thanks
    Mazda nut
    South Africa
    Last edited by Hiroshima; 02-19-2017, 01:59 AM.

its the same engine, like you said, just a longer stroke. i worked one when i was young in a 626 coupe, had a webber carb, cam etc. I won't say it went good, as i now realise that it didn't.

Have you considered an old style draw through carry turbo set up? that would bring it to life.

Comment

Something like this... it really woke this asthmatic 2lt up!
      Attached Files
      http://i1139.photobucket.com/albums/...psogb7uf9t.jpg

Comment

The 1600 is a better engine, if you are going to modify it like your original engine. This engine actually doesn't mind being revved but, at the end of the day, will still blow head gaskets. The MA has no advantage over the VC except for minor torque improvements. That is it unfortunately.

Comment

Thanks for the input guys - much appreciated.